Dream-chaser: good days, bad days

Uncategorized

tumblr_myky4yH7NV1scwp63o1_500.pngImage via Pinterest

‘The only person who can make my life happen the way I want is me’

I read that quote in a book I was reading last week. It made me think about where I want to be and what I’m doing in order to get there. There is so much that I want to achieve in my life but the problem I have is staying motivated. Its funny because despite all the pressure and opinions of people around me the biggest obstacle in my life is me. Some days I have bucket loads of self belief, I’m happy and determined whilst other days I don’t think I’m capable of anything, I feel highly inadequate and hopeless. It’s a real struggle to make progress when I’m regularly drifting between these 2 states.

However, as I’ve gotten older I’m beginning to understand myself more and I’ve begun to learn about the way my mind works. If you are trying to go after what you want in life but you’re only able to give 50% you aren’t going to achieve your full capability. I guess that is what I’m dealing with, I’m trying to figure how to achieve my full potential and go as far as I can in life (without falling off the edge), despite my personal struggles.

Now that I’ve written that out I realise that I’m really not the only one and in that I find comfort. It takes bravery to be a ‘Dream Chaser’ especially when you know their is an easier and more stable path to take. Chasing your dreams can be terrifying and full of uncertainty but like Seth Godin once said/wrote:

‘If it scares you it might me a good thing to try’

What I’m trying to say with this post is that the factors that limit you can be overcome. I know from experience that when your life is full of things like self-doubt, self-hate, self-harm, anxiety and depression possibly even suicidal thoughts then it can seem as though you aren’t capable of creating a life truly worth living.

On the good days, be a dream chaser and when things aren’t so easy focus on getting by. Whatever your circumstances I promise that you are not alone and don’t forget ‘the path to greatness is not without obstacles’.

Jimi

2 thoughts on “Dream-chaser: good days, bad days

  1. Wow! That’s how I feel sometimes too and my trick to overcome self doubts, regrets etc.. I speak it out I tell it to someone so close to me and after a while its gone then I am back to the game feeling focussed and determined. 🙂 Dream chaser here too! Wishing you well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing your trick, its definitely something i need to try more often.
      Wishing you well too, thanks for the lovely comment x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

