The Lost Art and Tara Jupp

Uncategorized

DSCN0238

When I read the Lost Art of Keeping Secrets a few months ago it felt like I was right there with the characters in the 1950s. I felt so much emotion and I remember just being in awe at the talent of the Author.

Set in the 1950s, in an England still recovering from the Second World War, this is the enchanting story of Penelope Wallace and her eccentric family at the start of the rock’n’roll era.

Penelope longs to be grown-up and to fall in love, but various rather inconvenient things keep getting in her way. Like her mother, a stunning but petulant beauty widowed at a tragically early age, her younger brother Inigo, currently incapable of concentrating on anything that isn’t Elvis Presley, a vast but crumbling ancestral home, a severe shortage of cash, and her best friend Charlotte’s sardonic cousin Harry.

One quite in particular that I liked was,

We were young and the world spun for us alone.

Midway through the book I realized that one of the names sounded very familiar. Now I knew both of these books were by the same author but what I didn’t know is that they were connected. A few of the characters are in both books and they have similar themes.

 

Tara Jupp has 583 pages. When I read it last year, it had been a long time since I had read a book of that length but it didn’t seem long at all. As my eyes followed the words row by row images and motions began to play out in my mind; almost like a dream but I wasn’t sleeping. The book is set in the 1960s and it’s so exciting. You end up wanting the best for the characters as though they were real people that you know and care for.

Tara Jupp, vicar’s daughter, singer and occasional thief, is lured to London from Cornwall in the summer of 1962 and finds herself at the start of an extraordinary time. Within hours of her arrival, she is plunged into a brilliant new world of fashion, music and heartache, all in a city where skirts are being hitched up as fast as the past is being pulled down. Can Tara succeed while still holding on to who she is…

If you like the sound of ’em, seek them out and give ’em a read. I fell in love with both of them and will definitely be reading them both again.

 

Jimi

One thought on “The Lost Art and Tara Jupp

Leave a Reply

