What it was like to drift away

Uncategorized

Sometimes you find yourself in the middle of nowhere and sometime in the middle of nowhere, you find yourself.:

Last year I made the decision to take time off from education. I think a big part of why I did this was because I needed to figure out who I was away from education and the whole routine I had been following for the past 15 years. Another reason was because I needed time to sort through some things that would have (and already had) affected my academic performance.

It wasn’t easy because so many people that I knew were heading off to uni and starting new lives in new cities. It’s always difficult when it seems like you’re the only one that is missing out. I was in my home city and nothing was really going as I thought it would. I felt lost because my life had no structure and I had no idea where or who I would be when September 2015 rolled around.

However it wasn’t all bad by a long-shot because over the past year I’ve had some cool experiences and met amazing people (that kinda changed my life) that I would have probably never crossed paths with. Overall I’ve discovered more about who I am in the past 12 months (through trials and MANY errors) than I had in the previous 5 years (whilst trying to maintain an image of infallibility).

I think I learned what it means to let go.

So this was my first week back at school and I have begun studying for a career in Civil Engineering. I’m in a class with mostly fellas as girls don’t tend to go down this path but I don’t mind. I’ve already made a promise to myself that I won’t get distracted by anything (or anyone). I’m ready to be focused, work hard and learn about things that excite me.

Jimi

5 thoughts on “What it was like to drift away

  1. That’s wonderful! Civil Engineering sounds so interesting.
    I’m currently at crossroads and I’m not sure whether I’ll be going to university this year, so your post gives me hope 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, civil engineering was one of the few things I was really interested in pursuing so I’m glad I’m on my way.
      I know quite a few people who took a year off from studying and I think it’s a great way to have time to figure out what you want 🙂

      Like

  2. Hey Good luck with the new beginnings Jimi, sometimes we all need to take a pause, breathe and then start again, you were lucky to have that freedom! I’m so happy for you ❤

    Also have you read this whole quote about "finding yourself in the middle of nowhere"?? It's amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

