Beginning with College

Uncategorized

When you have so much to say, where do you begin?

IMG_20141101_184832-1The past couple weeks my focus has been on my assignments as the deadline was coming up. Surprisingly I didn’t end up getting majorly stressed like I have in the past. I just kept reminding myself that getting stressed wouldn’t help and how great I would feel once it was handed in.

College has been going well these past few weeks. I’m taking a part-time course so I don’t have as much time to get to know my classmates but I’m getting there. Lately I’ve been joining in which isn’t something I normally have the confidence to do without 2nd (and 3rd) guessing everything I say and do. But things have been going well for me, I feel comfortable within myself and I’m allowing people to get to know me.

Being the only girl in my class hasn’t been as bad as I thought it would be. I’m quite lucky because my class are all pretty rad and chilled guys. The ones that I spend the most time with are great because they’re funny but also super helpful whenever I’m stuck.

There was a time in November when I thought of leaving my course but that’s gone now because I’m slowly realising how much I enjoy learning about Civil Engineering. Best of all for the first time in a long time I don’t have that feeling of insignificance. I don’t have the thoughts in my head telling me everyone else is better than me and that I’m hopeless. I think the reason for this is because I know that it’s okay if I don’t understand something the first time and it’s not the end of the world. On the flip-side when I do understand things I get to help out the ones that don’t and that always feel good.

This was meant to be a ‘my whole life since I last posted’ blog post but it’s only been more of a college life update from the past few weeks.

That’s all for now folks,

Jimi

 

2 thoughts on “Beginning with College

Leave a Reply

