Back for the fun of it

Uncategorized

DSC_0501_20160209175738792 (2)
I guess I’ll begin by saying that I have missed this a lot. I haven’t posted in almost 3 weeks. There are so many reasons why, like the fact that I’ve been pretty stressed and I’ve had a bunch of assignments due in recently. However the main reason is that I’ve really been questioning the whole thing of blogging and me. For the first time since December 2011 when I posted on my first ever blog I actually seriously considered quitting blogging. I would have these ideas for blog posts and then I’d ask my self:

‘What does the reader gain from this?’

‘Does this post have any real meaning?’

‘Will this be worth reading in a few weeks?’

I found myself at a point where I was questioning whether there was any significance to what I’m sharing. The answer I was coming up with was NO, so I stopped posting. But I didn’t stop writing which I am incredibly happy about. Sometimes I feel like everything I write is for a blog post so it was nice to write just for the sake of expressing myself for only myself. I ended up coming up with this idea for a collection of short musings titled ‘Tales from a park bench’. I go to this bench in a park quite often and when I’m sat there I tend to read, write, listen to music and take photos. Whilst sat on that bench, I’ll gaze at the water, sun, sky birds, people walking their dogs, parents with their children and couples taking a stroll. I sit there with no real aim but to relax yet I always end up writing. Sometimes it’s fact, sometimes fiction but often a combination of the 2.

DSC_0409

Anyway blogging has been a constant in my life for over 4 years and I didn’t think I’d reach a point where I’d consider parting with it but I did. So then I was left to wonder, who am I without a blog? As the time passed I realised that even though blogging has become a big part of my life I’m perfectly fine without it. But I was starting to miss the fun of it and that’s when I realised it was time to get back.

Jimi

Leave a Reply

