Not everybody is going to get it

Uncategorized

 

dsc_0370.jpg

I’m currently in the process of writing something on motivation. I wanted to write about what gets people motivated and learn more about staying motivated. I was really excited when I first started because I’m all about ideas, concepts and asking people about themselves. Part of the process for writing this piece is to ask a handful of people about motivation and future plans. So far I have only asked 2 people. The first person I asked was really helpful but the second person I asked left me feeling a little blah. The reason for this was that he didn’t really get it. Maybe I didn’t explain well enough or maybe my question weren’t probing enough because the answers he gave didn’t reveal as much as I thought they would. I had myself wondering if my piece was even a good idea anymore.

I now realise I was being a little dramatic and after some reflection I realised that not everybody is going to get my ideas or find them interesting and that is okay. There are people that do get it though and I shouldn’t be so quick to forget that. Also in this particular situation I was supposed be doing research so even though I chose the participants I didn’t need to like every answer given.

I’m actually trying to be more neutral, unbiased and unattached toward things in life. I guess I can say so far I’m failing at it but I’m determined to work at it because in the end it will make me a stronger person. And like Henry Ford once said ‘Failure is the opportunity to begin again more intelligently’.

Jimi

 

2 thoughts on “Not everybody is going to get it

Leave a Reply

