A comforting kind of freedom

Uncategorized

sm-1

A few days ago it was my birthday and as usual it was uneventful. I don’t remember at what age I began to dislike celebrating the day that I was born, maybe I’ve always felt this way.

Last night I headed out to meet some friends to ‘have fun’ and ‘catch up’. I hoped they wouldn’t ask about my birthday or how my general life was going because the answer was ‘not very great at all’ in fact it was going ‘pretty badly’.

When I arrived my stone cold sobriety had me feeling somewhat detached or perhaps it was just my anxieties. However as the night went on I began to feel better. I was happy laughing, dancing and talking to complete strangers.

It’s a comforting kind of freedom, when you know that you can be whoever you want to be, with people you’ve never met before and will probably never meet again.

Jimi

 

One thought on “A comforting kind of freedom

Leave a Reply

