It’s 2017: What do you want from the next 12 months?

Inspiration

dscn0632

I’m currently feeling extremely unwell. I woke up with a terrible pulsating headache which is surprising since I spent last night watching Harry Potter and McLeod’s Daughters whilst eating popcorn.

I want to start of this year by letting you know that a new year should not be your sole reason for setting goals. All throughout the year you should be in a constant state  of growth and self-improvement. I will admit that in the past I’ve been very ‘new year, new me’ and declared on January 1st that I’d get fit and eat better which was rarely turned out as  much more than empty words.

What do you want this year to consist of?

I want my 2017 to be a year of practise (deliberate practice), reading, learning, personal growth, visiting new places and meeting new people, trying new things, spending more time focusing on myself rather than getting distracted by what other people are doing via Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat, YouTube and Bloglovin.

Set specific goals

Towards the end of last month I wrote a long list of things that I want to do this year but they were specific, they’re things that I can tick off. Things like save X amount of money and complete the qualification I’m currently studying for. When I wrote my list I thought to myself what would I want the next 12 months to be like, what would I like to achieve, how do I want to be spending my time, what do I want more of in my life and what do I want less of?

Pick a mantra

‘Do the work’ is a phrase that has been on my mind the for the past month or so. It’s something Seth Godin has said and written many times. I think it’s best to pick something short, sweet and memorable. For me I’m  using it as a little reminder that anything I want to achieve requires a certain level of work. Also it’s something that always comes to mind for me if I ever get lazy or disheartened because it’s pointless wanting things out of life if I’m not willing to do the work.

Doing the work is also about my actions following my intentions. Not just talking or writing about what I’m going to do, actually doing it.

So here’s to the new year, a new month, a new day and another chance to take control and live your life.

jimi x

 

Leave a Reply

