Why I chose not start over

Style, Thoughts

dscn0015-1-1This time last week I was all set to write a farewell post on this blog. I’d gone as far as creating a new account on WordPress with the intentions of starting over completely. However I’ve changed my mind. I’m not ready to give up on this site yet.

Sometimes it is as though I am just going round in circles because I always end up coming to this similar conclusion, that I am just going to stick to my own style of blogging and not try and fit any sort of mould. This is all good and well until I begin to question whether the content I am creating is good enough, if it is something worth sharing.

My mind has been a mix of start over with a brand new blog dscn0007-1-1or just quit blogging altogether. My level of progress has been discouraging at times, making it hard to continue on. Especially when I go online and am surrounded by people who have surpassed me in just a few months or a year. Also, with where I am currently at in my life I’ve realised that blogging doesn’t mean as much to me as it used to. Once upon a time I felt like I needed a blog to be heard and to express myself instead of just doing it in real life. Despite how much blogging has helped (by serving as an outlet) I have come to understand the importance of bringing that aspect of myself offline and allowing people to see that side of me.

dscn0010-1-1

The idea to start over was incredibly tempting as it would have given me the chance to do whatever I wanted on a fresh blank state. However, creating a new blog would be the equivalent of running away and people always say that your problems follow you wherever you go. I think I’ve finally realised that if I can’t sort things out here on my current blog, I won’t be able to do it on a new site either.

So, I’ve decided to stick with this blog but I want to push the boat out a little more, steer things in a slightly different direction. I’m somebody that thinks about a lot of different things and I have opinions and thoughts that I’d like to share with you. Perhaps, I haven’t yet had the confidence, to come forth and pour out much of what I’ve had to offer. I think that now, I’m ready.

dscn0003-1-1

x

7 thoughts on “Why I chose not start over

  1. Best of luck with the blog going forward! I can totally relate, blogging can be extremely frustrating and it’s hard not to be discouraged sometimes. But always remember – comparison is the thief of joy!

    wwww.skylish.co.uk

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jimi the Phoenix I just read your blog and I am glad you did not start over. Yes blogging does get depressing sometimes especially when as in my case I put the announcement out and people click “like” on FB but the don’t bother to read it. However now and then you get a sincere follower or reader and it makes it all worthwhile. Please consider following me theinvisiblehindu.com and i will follow you too.My name is Jon but am called invisible hindu. Best of luck and keep your dream alive!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. girlaaah i am right there with you. i almost ran away and started over as well. i still plan to make the big switch but reading this inspired me to level up instead of running away…thanks for helping me save the vision lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

