Stuff and things: February 2017

Inspiration

dscn0027-1

Foyles Blogger Brekkie

I attended this event for the second time in February and I had a really nice time. It was held on the last Sunday of the month at Grand Central. The event gives bloggers the chance to come together and converse at the Foyles book store whilst eating breakfast.

Last dinosaurs

I only started listening to this band last year but they very soon became one of my favourites. Lately I’ve been listening to their album Wellness. Initially I was unsure of whether I liked it. But after taking the time to listen to each song, I found that it’s actually a really great album. One of my favourite songs is Apollo.

Not blogging

Despite having planned around 10 blog posts for  the month of February, I decided not to post the majority of them. In fact I only posted twice last month. The reason for this was was, I had put planning and being organised above creating content that I truly cared about. Instead of posting on my blog or trying to come up with new ideas, I took some time away to from it all and I feel much better for it. My previous post, Why I chose not to start over talks about it in much more detail.

The Book by Alan Watts

One thing I’m trying to do more of this year is read books. Last month I read a book by Alan Watts and over the next week or so I’ll be doing a separate post all about it. It was something quite different to what I usually read but it covered topics such as spirituality, religion and philosphy but was very differnt from what I usually read.

Mary J Blige- Fine

Its been ages since I fort heard this song and probably a coupe of years since I last listened to it. There was an afternoon last month where I was adding to my ‘childhood r&b’ playlist and when I played this song it brought up so many feelings. It was almost as though I was listening to the song for the first time, with fresh ears. The lyrics really resonated with me as they  perfectly describe where I’m currently at in life.

Meditation

Being that my mins is often scattered and racing, meditation is exactly what I need. However I’d always just avoided doing it, I think deep down i feared that I would actually find it helpful. I ended up doing it a couple of times a week last month and I loved it. It helps to settle my mind, gives me clarity, makes me feel calmer and connected and just generally refreshes me.

Podcasts

There are 2 podcasts that I’ve been listening to this past month.

The #3ShotsOfTequila Podcast is a fun and light hearted podcast about any and everything underneath the sun. From sex and relationships to religion and current affairs. Nothing is off limits. We are just 3 men who tell it as it as…

#TheReceiptsPodcast is a fun, honest podcast fronted by four girls who willing to talk about anything and everything. From relationships to situationships to everyday life experiences, you can expect unadulterated girl talk with no filter.

I discovered them through twitter and I think they’re both great. I listen to them when I’m out and about, often having to refrain myself from bursting out laughing because they’re so funny.

What have you been into lately?

x

Leave a Reply

