Don’t be too afraid to share your work

Thoughts

dscn0666

A writer once encouraged me to share what I wrote because it would make me a better writer. In theory I knew that he was right but in practise my anxieties took over. I would suddenly become capable of coming up with 101 reasons why I’m not confident enough to share things I’ve written. Things like ‘I’m not good at it’ and ‘I’m worried about what people will think’ are always some of the main factors.

But lately I’ve started thinking ‘When will this end?’. Will there really come a day when I just flip a switch internally and suddenly stop being consumed with fear? The thing about writing is that I really love it and it’s a very important part of my life. It’s easy for me to share my words online with my readers because that’s how you’ve always known me. However in person, face to face, is pretty terrifying.

I think the fear comes from the thought that people will think my work is silly. But when the cause of your lack of action is based upon the opinions of others, you’re giving your power away and that’s when you have a problem. 

The truth is it’s all just fear. It is okay to be afraid but it’s not okay to live a life restricted by your fears.

“Don’t be afraid of your fears. They’re not there to scare you. They’re there to let you know that something is worth it.”
C. JoyBell C.

x

 

2 thoughts on “Don’t be too afraid to share your work

Leave a Reply

