Dinner at 1580

Places

wp-1489943924920.jpg

I recently attended a bloggers launch for the newly opened contemporary Indian restaurant 1580, where I had the opportunity to taste some of the items off the menu. On arrival I found the atmosphere very welcoming and I headed to the bar for a drink of lemonade. I then chatted to some fellow bloggers before the owner said a few words. It was lovely to hear about how 1580 came together and throughout the evening the owner came and spoke to each table to introduce himself and check we were getting on alright. It really showed that he has a real interest in running a great restaurant. 

Appetiser

We began with the appetiser of Masala cone poppadoms.  I liked the way it was presented and it was a nice way to start off the meal.

Starter

We were then served a platter of Murgh Tikka (Chicken Tikka), Lamb chops, Kochi Kekraa (Kochi Soft Shell Crab) and Zaffrani Bada Jingha Tikka (Tandoori Saffron Jumbo Tiger Prawn Tikka). I really enjoyed the soft shell crab in particular, despite it being something I’ve never had before. I liked everything on the platter and they each item had its own lovely flavour.

Main

We were then served an array of dishes for the main consisting of: Bater Curry on the bone, Murgh Tikka Masala and Pot Pepper Lamb Curry. The main was accompanied by Naan bread and Pilau rice. All of the food tasted very fresh and flavoursome. I particulary liked the Murgh Tikka Masala and the Naan bread.

Dessert

Lastly was the desert, Gulab Jamun with vanilla ice-cream. I was unsure of whether I would like it as it was unlike anything I’ve had previously. However, I was pleasantly surprised, it was the perfect end to the meal and the Gulab Jamun went down well with the ice-cream.

Overall I had a great evening and 1580 is definitely a place that I would recommend. Not just for the food but for the atmosphere. The staff were helpful, friendly and delivered excellent service throughout the evening.

1580 is located at 710 Chester Road, Erdington, Birmingham, B23 5TE

Website: www.1580.co.uk/

Disclaimer: I received complimentary drinks and meal in exchange for a review.
2 thoughts on “Dinner at 1580

Leave a Reply

